A castle was founded here in Roman times and developed into a stronghold by the Normans, and the ruins of the Norman keep remain. However, the present castle owes its appeal to the Victorian eccentricities of the third Marquis of Bute (1848-1900). Under his direction, architect William Burges (1827-1881) added neo-Gothic towers and ornate interiors with murals, stained glass windows and decorative carving. The castle also houses two military museums and has extensive grounds, incorporated into Bute Park. A new interpretation centre opened at the castle in 2008.