World Travel Guide > Guides > Caribbean > Bahamas

Bahamas Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa Required
Australian Yes Yes No
British Yes Yes No
Canadian Yes Yes No
USA Yes Yes No
EU Yes Yes No


To enter the Bahamas, you must have a passport valid for at least six months from the date of departure. British and American passport holders can enter with less than six months remaining on their passports if visiting for up to 21 days. All visitors require a return or onward ticket, confirmed hotel booking (or letter of invitation if staying at a private address) and proof of funds to sustain their trip. 


Visas to the Bahamas are not required by nationals referred to in the chart above for the following durations:

• Nationals from Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, the UK and the USA can stay in the Bahamas without a visa for a maximum of eight months. You will initially be granted a stay of three to four weeks and need to extend this at the Immigration Department if you wish to stay longer.

• Other nationals referred to the chart above can stay in the Bahamas without a visa for up to three months. You will receive a stamp authorising you to stay for three or four weeks initially and will need to apply for an extension at the Immigration Department.

Nationals not referred to in the chart above are advised to contact the embassy to check visa requirements.

Types and Cost

Single-entry visa: £160; three-month, six-month or one-year multiple-entry visa: £250.


Single-entry visa: three months; multiple-entry visa: three months, six months or one year.

Application to

In person at the consulate (or consular section at embassy or high commission).

Working days

A minimum of 48 hours, but processing can take up to six weeks.

Sufficient Funds

Visitors are expected to have sufficient funds to cover their stay (around US$200 per day).

Extension of stay

Apply to the Immigration Department to extend your stay.

Entry with children

Unaccompanied children under 16 must carry a letter of authorisation from their parents.

Entry with pets

An import permit is required from the Department of Agriculture; contact the embassy or high commission for details.

Our visa and passport information is updated regularly and is correct at the time of publishing,
We strongly recommend that you verify critical information unique to your trip with the relevant embassy before travel.

Embassies and tourist offices

Embassy of the Commonwealth of the Bahamas in the USA

Telephone: (202) 319 2667.
Address: NW, 2220 Massachussetts Avenue, Washington, DC, 20008,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0930-1730.

Bahamas High Commission in the UK

Telephone: (020) 7659 0829.
Address: , 10 Chesterfield Street, London, W1J 5JL,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0930-1730.

Book a Hotel