World Travel Guide > Guides > Africa > Tanzania

Tanzania Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa Required
Australian Yes Yes Yes
British Yes Yes Yes
Other EU Yes Yes Yes/1
USA Yes Yes Yes
Canadian Yes Yes Yes


A passport valid for at least six months beyond the date of entry to Tanzania is required by all nationals referred to in the chart above.

While still part of Tanzania, Zanzibar and other islands are administered autonomously; they have their own immigration procedures and you will be asked to show your passport on entry and exit.


Visas for Tanzania are required by all nationals referred to in the chart above, except:

1. Nationals of Cyprus, Malta and Romania, who do not require a visa.

You can obtain single-entry and transit visas on arrival at the port of entry into Tanzania. However, you're recommended to apply for a tourist visa in advance at a Tanzania embassy near you. Also, please note that multiple-entry business visas cannot be issued at the port of entry.

As of August 2018, citizens from 66 countries can enter Tanzania without a visa. These countries are: Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Ashmore & Certie Island, Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, Belize, Botswana, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Island, Brunei, Cayman Island, Channel Island, Christmas Island, Cocoas Island, Cook Island, Cyprus, Dominica, Falkland Island, Gambia, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guernsey, Guyana, Heard Island, Hong Kong, Isle of man, Jamaica, Jersey, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Macao, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Naue Island, Nauru, Papua new Guinea, Romania, Ross Dependency, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, South African Republic, Solomon Island, Swaziland, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

If you are from a country not listed above, it means you are required to have a tourist visa to visit Tanzania and it is best to obtain one prior to your arrival. You can, however, enjoy a visa-free transit in Tanzania for up to 14 days.

For Americans
You can obtain a tourist visa to Tanzania upon arrival, however, the US government encourages you to apply one in advance by post. For information, see

For British
You can obtain a tourist visa to Tanzania upon arrival, however, the UK government encourages you to apply one before your travel. You can apply in person or by representative at Tanzania High Commission in London. You can also submit your application by post. For more information, see


Visa Note

Nationals not referred to in the chart are advised to contact the embassy or high commission to check visa requirements for Tanzania.

Types and Cost

Single-entry tourist visa on arrival: US$50 (the exception is US citizens who must pay US$100). For British, the fee is £40 if applying in advance. Please see the different visa types and costs below.

If applying for a Tanzania visa in America
Please note that Americans can only obtain a tourist visa to Tanzania at US$100
Single-entry (other nationals) US$50
Multiple-entry US$100
Business visa US$250
Transit visa – please see the information in the Transit section below.
Please note that the Tanzania Embassy in the United States only accepts visa fees in credit cards except American Express, money order or a company check only.

If applying for a Tanzania visa in the UK
Single-entry £40 (£60 for same-day service)
Double-entry £70 (£90 for same-day service)
6-month Multiple-entry £80 (£100 for same-day service)
1-year Multiple-entry £100 (£120 for same-day service)
Business Single-entry £180 (£200 for same-day service)
Transit visa – please see the information in the Transit section below.
Please note that the Tanzania High Commission in the UK only accepts visa fees in credit or debit cards except American Express, bank transfer or banker's draft only.


Single-entry (business and tourist) visa is valid for three months from the date of issue. Multiple-entry visa is valid for either six or 12 months from the date of issue.


Transit visas costing US$30 are available for those travelling through Tanzania to other destinations within a 14-day period. An onward ticket or tour itinerary/confirmation and sufficient funds for transit are required.

Please note that you can only obtain a transit visa to Tanzania at the point of entry.

Application to

You can obtain visas from the embassy or high commission before you travel. You can also obtain them at any point of entry (airports and land borders) on arrival. This is a much easier option but you will need to pay for them in cash in US Dollars. Ensure that you have sufficient blank pages in your passport (the minimum for entry into Tanzania is two).

Temporary residence

Residence permits are granted to foreign nationals if they are employed by a Tanzanian company, or working long-term as missionaries or volunteers. You must apply for these through the Immigration Services Department (

Working days

Allow three working days (applications in person) or 10 days (postal applications) for visa processing if applying in advance. You can pay an additional fee for a 24-hour or same-day service.

Sufficient Funds

Onward ticket or tour itinerary/confirmation, or proof of funds eg credit card, is required.

Extension of stay

You can extend your visas for three months at a time up to a maximum of six months at the immigration office in Dar es Salaam.

Our visa and passport information is updated regularly and is correct at the time of publishing,
We strongly recommend that you verify critical information unique to your trip with the relevant embassy before travel.

Embassies and tourist offices

Embassy of the United Republic of Tanzania in the USA

Telephone: (202) 884 1080.
Address: , 1232 22nd St NW, Washington, 20037,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0900-1300.

High Commission for the United Republic of Tanzania in the UK

Telephone: (020) 7569 1470.
Address: , Tanzania House, 3 Stratford Place, London , WC1 1AS,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 1000-1230 (visa applications) and 1400-1530 (visa collection only).

British High Commission in Tanzania

Telephone: (022) 229 0000.
Address: Kivukoni, Umoja House, Garden Ave, Tanzania, ,
Opening times:

Mon-Thu 0730-1530; Fri 0730-1330.

Browse our Video Guides