World Travel Guide > Guides > Africa > Rwanda

Rwanda Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa Required
Other EU Yes Yes Yes
USA Yes Yes Yes
Canadian Yes Yes Yes
Australian Yes Yes Yes
British Yes Yes Yes


A passport valid for six months from the date of entry is required by all nationals referred to in the chart above to enter Rwanda. Passports must also have a one blank page for stamps.


Visas for Rwanda are required by all nationals referred to in the chart above. Nationals of Australia, Germany, Sweden, the UK and the USA can purchase a visa on arrival. All other nationals listed in the chart must obtain a visa in advance.

Travellers require a yellow fever vaccination certificate if they are coming from yellow fever endemic countries or countries with active yellow fever transmission outbreaks. Check this is still the case before travelling as this is subject to change.

Travellers who are also visiting Kenya and Uganda may find it more useful to apply for an East Africa cross-border joint visa which allows entry into all three countries on a single visa.

Nationals not referred to in the chart are advised to contact the embassy to check visa requirements for Rwanda.

Visa Note

A single-entry visa on arrival is also available to nationals who do not have a Rwandan embassy or consulate in their country. If this applies to you, visit to request a visa online. 

Types and Cost

Visa on arrival (if eligible): US$50.


Visa on arrival/single-entry visa: 30 days; multiple-entry/tourist visa: 90 days; East Africa tourist visa: multiple entries within three months.


Transit visas are valid for 72 hours.

Application to

Consulate (or consular section at embassy/high commission) or online via

Working days

Allow three days for visa processing.

Sufficient Funds

All visa applicants must be able to show proof of sufficient funds to cover their stay.

Extension of stay

If you wish to extend your visa, you must apply to the Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration in Kigali before your current visa expires. You are given a period of grace whereby you can leave the country up to five days after your visa expires without penalty. Beyond five days, you risk paying a fine and being refused a further visa. 

Our visa and passport information is updated regularly and is correct at the time of publishing,
We strongly recommend that you verify critical information unique to your trip with the relevant embassy before travel.

Embassies and tourist offices

British High Commission in Rwanda

Telephone: 2525 56000.
Address: Kacyiru-Sud, Parcelle No 1131, Boulevard de l'Umuganda, Kigali, BP 576,
Opening times:

Mon-Thurs 0800-1200 and 1300-1700; Fri 0800-1200.

Embassy of the Republic of Rwanda in the USA

Telephone: (202) 232 2882.
Address: , 1875 Conneticut Avenue NW, Suite 418, Washington, DC 20009,
Opening times:

Rwanda High Commission in the UK

Telephone: (020) 722 49 832.
Address: , 120-22 Seymour Place, London, W1H 1NR,
Opening times:

Browse our Video Guides