World Travel Guide > Guides > Caribbean > Dominican Republic

Dominican Republic Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa Required
British Yes Yes 1
Other EU Yes Yes 1
USA Yes Yes 1
Canadian Yes Yes 1
Australian Yes Yes 1


A passport valid for six months is required by all nationals referred to in the chart above to enter the Dominican Republic.


As of June 2018, the Dominican Republic allows nationals from eight countries to enter without a visa or a tourism entry tax (previously known as a tourist card). These eight countries are Argentina, Chile, Ecuador, Israel, Japan, Peru, South Korea and Uruguay.

As of April 2018, residents of the United Kingdom and those holding a valid visa to enter Canada, the United States or any European Union country do not require a tourist visa (tourist card) to enter the Dominican Republic. The tourist entry tax of US$10 should be included in the price of the flight ticket. Visitors who bought their flight ticket before April 2018 can pay the entry tax on arrival. Nationals who aren’t in possession of a valid visa for Canada, the United States or any European Union country must obtain a tourist visa which must be done in person at the Dominican Consulate nearest to their place of residence.

Nationals from 95 countries can enter the Dominican Republic by paying the tourism entry tax (previously known as a tourist card) which should be already included in your air fare. If you purchased a flight ticket before that date, you can apply for a tourist card at a consular near you and the process takes approximately seven days. Alternatively, you can also obtain a tourist card at the airport upon arrival at Punta Cana International Airport.

The 95 countries whose citizens can visit the Dominican Republic with a tourist card are: Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Dominica, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norther Mariana Islands, Norway, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Samoa, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, St Lucia, St Kitts & Nevis, St Vincent & Grenadines, Surinam, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Turkey, Turks & Caicos, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu and Venezuela.

If you are from a country not listed above, but a legal resident of a country listed above, you may enter the Dominican Republic with a tourist card and a valid passport. An example is you are a national of Vietnam (country not listed above) but you are a Green Card holder, a resident of the United States. In this circumstance, you may enter the Dominican Republic with a tourist card. It is best to check with a consulate near you if you have any questions.

Visa Note

Nationals from a country that has been not mentioned are advised to contact the Dominican embassy to check visa requirements for the Dominican Republic.

Types and Cost

Charges vary from consulate to consulate. In the UK, a tourist card costs £11.50 instead of US$10. British passport holders can also get a tourist card upon arrival, which is US$10 and must be paid in US dollars.

American travellers may choose to apply online ( or obtain a tourist card upon arrival.


Tourist cards are valid for 30 days from the date of entry.

Application to

You can apply for a tourist card at a consulate near you, online ( or at the airport upon arrival.

For tourist visa, please visit a consulate near you.

Working days

Please allow up to seven days for your visa to be processed.

Extension of stay

To extend your visit, you must go to the Migration Department (Dirección General de Migración) in Santo Domingo and pay an additional fee up to RD$1,000, which varies depending on the length of stay. You must book an appointment online and arrange for an extension at least two weeks before your stay expires.

Entry with pets

If bringing a pet to the Dominican Republic, your animal needs an up-to-date rabies vaccination certificate (issued at least 30 days, but not more than 12 months, before travel) and a veterinary certificate of good health. Without these, your pet will be quarantined for up to 30 days.

Our visa and passport information is updated regularly and is correct at the time of publishing,
We strongly recommend that you verify critical information unique to your trip with the relevant embassy before travel.

Embassies and tourist offices

Embassy and Consulate of the Dominican Republic in the USA

Telephone: +1 202 332 7670
Address: NW, 1715 22nd Street, Washington, 20008,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0900-1600 (Embassy)
Mon-Thu 0900-1300 and 1400-1500 (Consular)
Fri 0900-1300 (Consular)

Embassy of the Dominican Republic in the UK

Telephone: +44 20 7262 6856
Address: High Holborn, 8 Gloucester Square, London, W2 2TJ,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0900-1500

British Embassy in the Dominican Republic

Telephone: (809) 472 7111
Address: Edificio Corominas Pepin, Ave 27 de Febrero No 233, Santo Domingo, ,
Opening times:

Mon-Thu 0900-1200, and 1300-1600
Fri 0900-1300

Browse our Video Guides

Related Articles

11 Things to know before travelling to the Dominican Republic

The Dominican Republic promises sun and fun, and these useful travel tips will help you make the most out of your holiday in the Caribbean paradise