World Travel Guide > Guides > Europe > Cyprus

Cyprus Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa Required
British Yes Yes No
Australian Yes Yes No
Canadian Yes Yes No
USA Yes Yes No
EU See below No No


EU nationals: Cyprus is a member of the European Union (EU) but not a member of the Schengen Agreement, so you are required to produce evidence of your EU nationality using either a passport or a national identity card. You aren't required to show a return ticket or sufficient funds for the length of stay.

Non-EU nationals: To enter Cyprus, you must have a valid passport issued within the past ten years and with at least three or six months left (depending on your nationality). You must also have a return ticket and sufficient funds for the length of stay.

Passport Note

Cyprus (or the Republic of Cyprus) does not recognise the self-declared 'Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus' in the north of Cyprus. If you enter Cyprus from the north, you may face a fine, be refused entry, or be deported. You are advised to enter Cyprus through the airports of Larnaca or Paphos, or the seaports of Larnaca, Limassol, Latsi and Paphos.


EU nationals: You don't need a visa for Cyprus if the stay is less than 90 days. Those who plan to stay longer will need to obtain a residence permit.

Non-EU nationals: Americans, Australians, British and Canadians can travel to Cyprus without a visa for up to 90 days in any 180-day period. This applies if you travel as a tourist, to visit family or friends, to attend business meetings, cultural or sports events. For other purposes, you need to check with the Cypriot embassy, high commission or consulate in your home country on what type of visa and/or work permit you may need. Please note that Cyprus is not a member of the Schengen Agreement. This means your visits to other EU or Schengen countries do not count towards your 90-day limit in Cyprus. Equally, your visits to Cyprus do not count towards your 90-day visa-free limit in the Schengen area.

Nationals not mentioned in the chart above: Holders of valid dual or multiple-entry Schengen visas (except Turkish) can enter, stay and transit in or through Cyprus for tourism purpose, without the need for an additional visa. Holders of a dual-entry Schengen visa must have one unused entry if travelling to Cyprus. Holders of a residence permit, or certain other types of visa issued by a Schengen Area country, can also visit Cyprus without requiring an additional visa. Otherwise, you will need an airport transit visa (category A), a transit visa (category B) or a short-stay visa (category C), depending on your needs.

Visa Note

For more information about Schengen visas, follow the link to the article A guide to Schengen visas.

ETIAS travel authorisation: From 2024 (possibly not before 2025), all visitors who currently do not need a visa to visit 30 European countries will need to apply for an ETIAS travel authorisation. For more information, follow the link to the article Applying for ETIAS.

Types and Cost

There are a few types of visa: airport transit visa (category A), transit visa (category B), single short-stay visa (category C), multiple-entry visa (category C), visa with limited territorial validity (categories B and C), or even a national long-stay visa (category D).

The costs vary.




Nationals of the following countries require an airport transit visa: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana, Iran*, Iraq, Nigeria, Pakistan, Somalia, Sri Lanka and Turkey.

*Holders of diplomatic and service passports of Iran are exempted, along with flight crew who are citizens of a Contracting Party to the Chicago Convention.

Application to

Please contact the embassy, high commission or consulate of Cyprus.

Schengen Visas

Cyprus is not yet a member of the Schengen area, but holders of valid dual or multiple-entry Schengen visas can enter, stay and transit in or through Cyprus for tourism purpose, without the need for an additional visa. This does not apply to citizens of Turkey.

Temporary residence

Visitors looking to stay longer than 90 days should check with the embassy directly.

Working days


Sufficient Funds

Applicants must be able to provide proof of funds to cover their stay.

Extension of stay

Apply to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for visa renewal.

Entry with pets

Pets should have a passport or animal health certificate, plus a vaccination certificate (to include rabies) if entering from a non-EU country. Pets arriving from within the EU require a pet passport, microchip and rabies vaccination certificate.

There are a number of breeds that are not allowed into the Republic of Cyprus, regardless of their birthplace or country of origin. Pitbull Terriers, Tosa Inus, Argentinian Mastiffs and Brazilian Mastiffs are all banned. For a full list, contact the Cypriot consulate or embassy.

This page reflects our understanding of current rules for the most common types of travel to the said country. However, please note that each authority sets and forces entry rules, hence we strongly recommend that you verify critical information with the relevant embassy before travel.

Embassies and tourist offices

High Commission of the Republic of Cyprus in the UK

Telephone: +44 (0) 20 7321 4100.
Address: , 13 St James's Square, London, SW1Y 4LB,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0930-1300 (consular section).

Embassy of the Republic of Cyprus in the USA

Telephone: +1 202 462 0632 (consulate).
Address: NW, 2211 R Street, Washington, DC, 20008,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 1000-1230 and 1430-1530 (consular section).

British High Commission in Cyprus

Telephone: +357 22 861100 (consular section)
Address: PO Box 21978, Alexander Pallis Street, Nicosia, 1587,
Opening times:

Tue and Thu 0900-1530 (consular services – appointment only); Mon-Fri 0800-1600 (all phone enquiries).

A digital image at

Related Articles

Cyprus for foodies

With sun-kissed beaches, ancient ruins and tranquil villages, Cyprus offers an island escape to fit all – and it’s also a foodie destination in its own right

Book a Hotel