FOLLOW US

World Travel Guide > Guides > North America > United States of America > Washington State

the fp is things-to-do

Things to see and do in Washington State

Tourist offices

Washington State Tourism

Address: 506 Second Avenue, 30th Floor, Seattle, 98104
Telephone: 1 800 544 1800
Website: http://www.experiencewa.com/

Attractions in Washington State

Catch a game

Watch a ball game at Safeco Field when the Seattle Mariners baseball team are in town.

Get active in Mount Rainier National Park

Explore Mount Rainier National Park (www.nps.gov/mora), popular for skiing and other winter sports, with its breathtaking views.

Hit the market

Shop at Pike Place Public Market (www.pikeplacemarket.org), situated just above the waterfront. The oldest continually operating farmers' market in the USA features abundant seafood and produce, as well as handcrafted items from the Pacific Northwest.

Lake Chelan

Head for high adventure on Lake Chelan (www.lakechelan.com), an 81km- (50.5 mile-) long glacier-fed lake, 453m (1,486ft) at its deepest point. Take to the skies on a hang glider or paraglider above breathtaking scenery in the rugged North Cascades.

Mount St Helens

See Mount St Helens in Gifford Pinchot National Park (www.fs.fed.us/gpnf), the site of the infamous volcanic eruption of 1980, which left a gigantic crater in the mountain's north flank. It is possible to take short trips by light aircraft over the summit.

Olympic National Park

Enjoy glacier-studded mountains, rainforests, lakes, streams and miles of unspoiled coastline at Olympic National Park (www.nps.gov/olym).

Riverfront Park

Ride the historic 1909 Looff Carrousel at Riverfront Park (www.spokaneriverfrontpark.com) in Spokane. Other attractions include an IMAX theatre, Ice Palace, Clock Tower and different thrill rides.

Sample Washington's wine

Taste the vintage grapes of the heart of the region's wine country in the cities of Kennewick, Pasco, Richland and Yakima (www.washingtonwine.org).

Seattle

Savour the delights of Seattle (www.visitseattle.org), the state's largest city, surrounded by the waters of Lake Washington and Puget Sound, with spectacular views of The Cascades and the Olympic Mountains. Browse waterfront shops and sample fresh seafood.

Seattle Aquarium

Interact with juvenile rockfish, sea stars and plankton on a 4m (13ft) wet table at the Seattle Aquarium (www.seattleaquarium.org).

Set sail

Sail the coastal breezes in Puget Sound or explore the San Juan Islands (www.guidetosanjuans.com) by boat. Look out for porpoises, seals, whales and sea lions.

Space needle

View the city of Seattle from the observation deck, restaurant or cocktail bar of the 185m- (605ft-) tall Space Needle (www.spaceneedle.com).

Take in a show

The Seattle Center (www.seattlecenter.com), built for the 1962 World Fair, and now home to opera, symphony, ballet and repertory theatre companies.

Tillicum Village

Hop on an excursion to Tillicum Village (www.tillicumvillage.com), 13km (8 miles) from downtown Seattle. Harbour tours and fishing excursions are also available from Seattle's waterfront.

Tour Pioneer Square

Tour Pioneer Square (www.pioneersquare.org), a 17-square-block National Historic District showcasing Seattle's early history with shops, art galleries, restaurants and a unique underground tour.

Related Articles

City Highlight: Seattle

Surrounded by lush green forests, water and mountains, Seattle is an outdoor lover’s paradise