World Travel Guide > Guides > Europe > Armenia

Armenia Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa Required
Australian Yes No No
British Yes No No
USA Yes No No
Canadian Yes No Yes
EU Yes No No


To enter Armenia, travellers need a passport valid beyond their travel dates.


Citizens from 64 countries can travel to Armenia without a visa and are allowed to stay up to 180 days a year. This applies to tourism and business trips. These 64 countries are: Albania, Argentina, Andorra, Austria, Australia, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador,  Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Hong Kong, Iceland, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Republic of Korea, Kyrgizstan,  Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Macao, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Tajikistan, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, and Uzbekistan, United Kingdom, United States of America and Vatican.

Canadian nationals need to apply for a visa. Nationals from countries which aren't mentioned here should contact the embassy to check visa requirements for Armenia. This Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Armenia website is also useful for checking if you need a visa to travel to Armenia.

Types and Cost

It is best to apply for an E-Visa. The typical waiting time for an E-Visa is three working days. Please apply at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Armenia website before your trip.

A visitor visa (up to 21 days of stay) is US$6 or €5, while a multiple-entry visa (for up to 60 days with a 6 month validity) is US$40 or €34.

A visitor e-visa (up to 21 days of stay) is US$6, a multiple-entry e-visa (for up to 120 days) is US$30.


Single-entry 21-day visas must be used within 90 days of date of issue; single-entry 120-day visas must be used within 180 days of issue.


Foreign nationals transiting through Armenia must present tickets to a third country or a visa to a third country and can stay in Armenia for no more than 72 hours except in cases of emergency.

If leaving the airport, a transit visa may be issued on arrival for a stay of maximum three days, provided the visitor is holding a visa (if required) for the final destination.

Application to

Embassy (or consular section at embassy). It is also possible to obtain 21-day and 120-day visas on arrival, but expect the costs to be significantly higher than those listed above.

Nationals of multiple countries are eligible to apply for an e-visa (

Working days

Allow at least two to three days for visa / e-visa processing.

Extension of stay

Visas are granted for a maximum of 120 days with the possibility of extending for another 60 days.

This page reflects our understanding of current rules for the most common types of travel to the said country. However, please note that each authority sets and forces entry rules, hence we strongly recommend that you verify critical information with the relevant embassy before travel.

Embassies and tourist offices

Embassy of the Republic of Armenia in the USA

Telephone: (202) 319 1976 or 2983 (consular section).
Address: NW, 2225 R Street, Washington, DC, 20008,
Opening times:

Embassy of the Republic of Armenia in the UK

Telephone: (020) 7938 5435.
Address: , 25A Cheniston Gardens, London, W8 6TG,
Opening times:

Mon-Thurs 0900-1800, Fri 0900-1700 (embassy); Mon-Fri 0930-1300 (consular section).

British Embassy in Armenia

Telephone: (10) 264 301.
Address: 19, 34 Baghramyan Avenue, Yerevan, 3750,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0900-1700.

A digital image at

Book a Hotel