World Travel Guide > Guides > Europe > Malta

Malta Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa Required
Other EU 1 No No
USA Yes Yes No
Canadian Yes Yes No
Australian Yes Yes No
British Yes No No


A passport valid for three months beyond the length of stay and issued within the past 10 years is required by all nationals listed in the chart above except (1) EU/EEA nationals holding a passport or national ID card which is valid for the duration of stay. If travelling from one border-free Schengen country to another, EU/EEA nationals are not required to show a passport or national ID card, but it is still recommended that you travel with your passport or ID card to prove your identity if necessary. Also, EU/EEA nationals are not required to possess a return ticket or show sufficient funds.

Note that Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and the UK are not part of the Schengen area, so a passport or ID card is required if travelling to/from these countries.


Visas for Malta are not required by nationals of EU/EEA countries, regardless of the purpose and/or length of stay. However, EU/EEA nationals who plan to live in Malta for an unlimited period must register with the local authorities after three months.

Australian, Canadian and US nationals may stay in Malta without a visa for up to 90 days.

Malta is part of the Schengen system, which allows visitors to travel to all participating countries without a visa. Please click here for information regarding the Schengen visa.

Apart from citizens listed in the chart above, citizens from the following countries can also visit without a visa for Malta for up to 90 days within a six-month period: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Holy See (Vatican State City), Honduras, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macao, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Monaco, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, USA, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela.

For Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro North Macedonia, Serbia and Ukraine visa exemption only applies to holders of biometric passports.

For citizens from Taiwan visa exemption only applies to holders of passports issued by Taiwan which include an identity card number.

Travellers who need a visa are advised to contact the nearest embassy to check the visa requirements for Malta.

Visa Note

For visitors who are unsure, you are advised to contact the embassy to check requirements for Malta visas.

Types and Cost

Schengen visa: €80. Nationals of Armenia, Azerbaijan and Russia pay €35.

Children under six years of age, family members of EU/ EEA nationals: no fee.


The Schengen short-stay visa is valid for up to 90 days within a six-month period.


Some nationals require an airport transit visa; check with the embassy or high commission.

Application to

In person at the consulate (or consular section of embassy or high commission).

Schengen Visas

Malta is part of the Schengen visa scheme.

Temporary residence

Non-EU/EEA nationals intending to stay in Malta for longer than three months have to apply for a temporary residence permit which either requires proof of financial self-sufficiency or an application for a work visa has to be obtained as well.

EU/EEA citizens staying beyond 90 days have to register with the Maltese authorities.

Working days

Visa applications may take up to 14 days. However, in special cases or unusual political situations, it might take up to two months.

Sufficient Funds

Visitors who require a Schengen visa must show proof of sufficient funds.

Extension of stay

Schengen visa holders can only extend their stay in exceptional circumstances such as force majeure or for humanitarian reasons.

Entry with pets

If you and your pet are from an EU country:
• An ISO identification with a 15-digit microchip, or clearly readable tattoo.
• The animal must be identified before the rabies vaccination. A rabies vaccine at 12 weeks of age. Also, 21 days have to pass from the date of the rabies vaccination.
• A valid EU passport.
• Dogs must have tapeworm treatment between 24 to 120 hours prior to entering Malta. But dogs moving directly between Norway, Finland, Ireland, or the United Kingdom to Malta are exempted from the treatment against the tapeworm Echinococcus multilocularis.
• Submit an online notification to

If you and your pet are from a country outside of the EU:
• An ISO identification with a 15-digit microchip, or clearly readable tattoo.
• The animal must be identified before the rabies vaccination. A rabies vaccine at 12 weeks of age - it will also need a blood test if you are travelling from an 'unlisted country' listed below. The test must be carried out on a sample collected by an authorised veterinarian at least 30 days after the date of vaccination and not less than three months before the date of movement, the test must measure a level of neutralising antibody to rabies virus in serum equal to or greater than 0,5 IU/ml, the test must be performed in an approved laboratory.
• An Official Health Certificate issued by the country of departure either 'listed' or 'unlisted country'.
• • Dogs must have tapeworm treatment between 24 to 120 hours prior to entering Malta.
• Submit an online notification to

The listed countries are: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Aruba, Ascension Island, Australia, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Bermuda, BES Islands (Bonaire, Saint Eustatius and Saba), Bosnia-Herzegovina, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Cayman Islands, Chile, Curaçao, Falkland Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Montserrat, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Saint Maarten, Singapore, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Taiwan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Trinidad and Tobago, United Arab Emirates, USA (includes American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands), Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna.

Unlisted countries refer to countries not mentioned in the list above.

Our visa and passport information is updated regularly and is correct at the time of publishing,
We strongly recommend that you verify critical information unique to your trip with the relevant embassy before travel.

Embassies and tourist offices

British High Commission in Malta

Telephone: +356 2323 0000
Address: Ta' Xbiex, Whitehall Mansions, Ta' Xbiex Seafront, Valletta, XBX 1026,
Opening times:

Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri 0900-1300

Malta High Commission in the UK

Telephone: (020) 7292 4800.
Address: 36-38 Piccadilly, Malta House, London, W1J OLE,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0930-1230 and 1430-1600.

Embassy of Malta in the USA

Telephone: (202) 462 3611.
Address: , 2017 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20008,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0900-1700.