World Travel Guide > Guides > Asia > Malaysia

Malaysia Public Holidays

Below are listed Public Holidays in Malaysia

New Year's Day

01 January 2024

Federal Territory Day

01 February 2024

Note: Regional observation only (Putrajaya, Kuala Lumpur, and Labuan).

Chinese New Year

10 February 2024 to 12 February 2024

Note: If Lunar New Year's Day falls on a Sunday, the following working day is a public holiday. Nationwide except for two states.

Hari Raya Puasa (End of Ramadan)

10 April 2024

Labour Day

01 May 2024

Wesak Day (Buddha's Birthday)

23 May 2024

King's Birthday

01 June 2024

Hari Raya Qurban (Feast of Sacrifice)

16 June 2024

Awal Muharram (Islamic New Year)

08 July 2024

Merdeka Day (National Day)

31 August 2024

Milad un Nabi (Birth of the Prophet Muhammad)

16 September 2024

Note: Celebrated 5 days later for Shi'a.

Deepavali (Festival of Lights)

01 November 2024

Christmas Day

25 December 2024
A digital image at

Related Articles

From vandalism to masterpiece: Malaysia’s street art revolution

Street artists who would have once been arrested for vandalism in Malaysia now count among the country's rising creative stars

Top 5: Animal volunteer programmes

If you have gone on a holiday to somewhere that inspired you to give back, then one of these animal volunteer programmes may stir you to take action

Book a Hotel