World Travel Guide > Guides > Europe > Ireland

Ireland Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa Required
EU See below No No
USA Yes Yes No
Canadian Yes Yes No
Australian Yes Yes No
British See below No No


Ireland is a member of the European Union (EU) but isn't part of the Schengen Agreement, this means it allows free movements of EU nationals for up to 90 days. In addition, Ireland and the UK have a long-standing Common Travel Area agreement, which permits citizens of Ireland, the UK, along with the Crown Dependencies (the Isle of Man, Bailiwick of Jersey and Bailiwick of Guernsey) to live, work or study in any of the participating countries without restrictions.

EU nationals: Ireland is not a Schengen country, so you are required to produce evidence of your EU nationality using either a passport or a national identity card. You aren't required to show a return ticket or sufficient funds for the length of stay.

British: Technically you don't need to produce a passport, but transport providers like airlines, train operations and ferry companies will want to check your passport and verify you are who you are. UK passengers arriving by air should also have their passport ready for inspection.

Americans, Australians, Canadians, along with nationals not mentioned in the chart above: You must have a valid passport issued within the past ten years and with at least six months left, along with a return ticket and sufficient funds for the length of stay.


British: No restrictions.

Citizens of the following countries do not need a visa to enter Ireland if the stay is less than 90 days: All countries in the European Union, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, El Salvador, Fiji, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hong Kong SAR, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Lesotho, Macau SAR, Malaysia, Maldives, Mexico, Monaco, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Swaziland, Taiwan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United Arab Emirates, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu and Vatican City.

Citizens of the following countries must obtain a visa before visiting Ireland: Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Republic of), Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Faroe Islands, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, North Macedonia, Oman, Pakistan, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Types and Cost

Transit visa: €25; single-entry visa: €60; multiple-entry visa: €100.


A single-entry visa is usually valid for 90 days, while a multiple-entry visa is valid for a maximum of five years from the date of issue.


Nationals of the following countries will need a transit visa to land in Ireland before continuing the next journey: Afghanistan, Albania, Cuba, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Georgia, Ghana, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Moldova, Nigeria, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Ukraine and Zimbabwe.

Application to

All applications for Irish visas must be made initially using the online Visa Application System (AVATS) at On completion of the online form, applicants will be advised on where to submit their application.

Schengen Visas

Ireland is not a member of the Schengen Agreement, therefore the Schengen visa scheme does not apply.

Working days

Processing times vary according to individual applications. The general guideline is to apply at least eight weeks before your trip to Ireland.

Sufficient Funds

All visa applicants are expected to show bank statements to prove they have sufficient funds for the duration of their stay.

Extension of stay

Ireland does not usually grant an extension of stay to holders of transit or tourist visas, unless the circumstance is unusual. In this case, please apply in writing to: Extension of Visitor Permission
Residence Division Unit 6
Irish Naturalisation & Immigration Service
PO Box 12695
Dublin 2

The application must include:
• A full copy of the visitor’s current passport showing entry stamp to Ireland.
• Detailed account of the unforeseen circumstances that have arisen.
• Documentary supporting evidence (such as medical reports if applicable).
• How much extra time is required.
• Details of any family members resident in Ireland and their current circumstances (like if they are studying or working).

Entry with pets

Pets entering Ireland from within the EU require a passport or certificate showing the pet’s ID, a subsequent rabies vaccination with the first vaccination at least 21 days prior to entry, and (for dogs) specific tapeworm treatment. Those pets coming from outside the EU are designated either high-risk or low-risk, depending on which country they arrive from. Both require the pet to have detailed proof of ID and good health. Check for further information.

This page reflects our understanding of current rules for the most common types of travel to the said country. However, please note that each authority sets and forces entry rules, hence we strongly recommend that you verify critical information with the relevant embassy before travel.

Embassies and tourist offices

Embassy of Ireland in the USA

Telephone: (202) 462 3939
Address: NW, 2234 Massachusetts Avenue, Washington, 20008,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0900-1300, 1400-1600.

British Embassy in Ireland

Telephone: (1) 205 3700
Address: Ballsbridge, 29 Merrion Road, Dublin, ,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0900-1700. (Public counters for visa enquiries, by appointment only, are 0900-1230 and 1330-1530; passport office opening hours are Tues and Thurs 0900-1230 and 1400-1600).

Embassy of the Republic of Ireland in the UK

Telephone: (020) 7235 2171 (embassy); (020) 7373 4339 (passport office)
Address: , 17 Grosvenor Place, London, SW1X 7HR,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0930-1700 (0930-1200 for visa lodge applications; 1430-1600 for visa collections; 0930-1630 for passport section).

A digital image at

Related Articles

An afternoon inside Dublin’s anarchist squat

An autonomous arts hub or a squat for sore eyes? James Hendicott spends an afternoon inside the Grangegorman anarchist space that's dividing Dublin.

City Highlight: Dublin

Dublin is ideal for a weekend trip. Fly in, hop on the Luas (tram) to get around the city, stay for a night then leave with great memories.

Top 5 winter holiday ideas

The northern hemisphere is full of cities that come alive during the winter season. Here are five of the best winter holiday ideas

Book a Hotel