World Travel Guide > Guides > Europe > United Kingdom

United Kingdom Visa and Passport Requirements

Passport required Return ticket required Visa Required
Australian Yes No No
EU Yes No No
USA Yes No No
Canadian Yes No No
British N/A N/A N/A


The United Kingdom is not a member of the European Union (EU), but it has a long-standing Common Travel Area agreement with Ireland. This means that citizens of the UK and Ireland, along with the Crown Dependencies (the Isle of Man, Bailiwick of Jersey and Bailiwick of Guernsey) can live, work or study in any of the participating countries without restrictions.

To enter the United Kingdom, a passport valid for the duration of stay is required by all nationals.

Nationals from the following countries can use eGates at various airports and railway stations to enter the UK quickly and securely: British, all EU nationals, nationals from Australia, Canada, Iceland, Japan, Liechtenstein, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland and the United States of America. Those who use the eGates must have a passport with a biometric symbol on the cover of your passport and are aged 12 or over. Those who are 12-17 years old must be accompanied by an adult.


Nationals of countries/territories who need a visa to enter the UK: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain*, Bangladesh, Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China*, Comoros, Congo (Republic of), Cote d'Ivoire, Cuba, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Eswatini (Swaziland), Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia*, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait*, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, North Macedonia, Northern Cyprus (the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus), Oman*, Pakistan, Palestine Territories, Philippines, Qatar*, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa*, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Syria*, Taiwan*, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey*, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates*, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam*, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

• Bahrain: holders of diplomatic and special passports are exempted.
• China: holders of diplomatic passports and those who travel with a serving Chinese government minister on an official visit are exempted.
• Indonesia, South Africa, Turkey, Vietnam: Holders of diplomatic passports do not require a visa for official visits, tourist visits or transit.
• Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, UAE: Holders of diplomatic and special passports do not require a visa for official visits, tourist visits or transit. Holders of ordinary passports do not require a visa if they hold a valid electronic visa waiver (EVW) document.
• Taiwan: Passports with a personal ID number on the biodata page are exempted.
• Syria: Holders may not use a USA visa (B1/B2) to transit through the UK.

Nationals of countries/territories who do not need a visa to enter the UK: All EU countries, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Kiribati, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, United States of America, Uruguay and Vatican City.

Visa Note


Travelers from visa-free countries will in future require an entry permit in the form of the electronic entry form ETA UK to travel to Great Britain. Application for the ETA UK is obligatory for nationals of Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Kuwait and Bahrain. In the course of 2024 or from 2025, nationals of other visa-free countries will have to apply for an ETA UK, including nationals from all EU countries, the USA, Norway and Switzerland. The ETA is expected to cost £10 and be valid for 3 years.
Visa rules are subject to change. For up-to-date information, please see

Types and Cost

There are various types of visa, including but not limited to:
• Airside transit: £35
• Other transits: £64
• Short-term (single or multiple-entry, up to six months): £115
• Long-term (up to two years): £400
• Long-term (up to five years): £771


See above


Some nationals can transit in the UK 'airside' without a visa if they arrive and depart by air, have a confirmed onward flight departing the same day from the same airport, and hold the correct documents for their destination. However, other nationals are subject to more rules. Please check before transiting in the UK.

Application to

Contact the embassy, high commission or consulate.

Schengen Visas

The United Kingdom is not part of the Schengen area so the Schengen visa scheme does not apply.

Working days

The length of time taken to process visa applications depends on the nationality of the applicant and the country where you're applying. Beware that the earliest you can apply is three months before you travel.

Sufficient Funds

All applicants are expected to provide information about your finances.

Extension of stay

See the UK government website

Entry with pets

See the UK government website

This page reflects our understanding of current rules for the most common types of travel to the said country. However, please note that each authority sets and forces entry rules, hence we strongly recommend that you verify critical information with the relevant embassy before travel.

Embassies and tourist offices

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Telephone: +44 (0) 20 7008 1500 (consular assistance).
Address: , King Charles Street, London, SW1A 2AH,
Opening times:

Mon-Fri 0800-1700.

British Embassy in the USA

Telephone: +1 202 588 6500
Address: NW, 3100 Massachusetts Avenue, Washington, 20008,
Opening times:

By appointment only. Mon-Fri 0900-1600 (telephone enquiries).

A digital image at

Related Articles

City Highlight: Edinburgh

World-class culture, striking architecture and a dazzling nightlife, Edinburgh is a city that will leave you awestruck and wanting more

Top cycling routes in Wales

Wales is one of the most beautiful countries in the world, and there’s no better way to see it than on a bike

Top 5 winter holiday ideas

The northern hemisphere is full of cities that come alive during the winter season. Here are five of the best winter holiday ideas

Book a Hotel